refahow.blogg.se

The go getters ottawa
The go getters ottawa





I had a chance to interview the late, great Alex Trebek for CTV Ottawa in 2019. Who has been your most memorable interview? Again we are living it and reporting on it. I assumed that experience would never be duplicated, but I have to say that COVID has had similarities. We were part of a team doing something useful and providing a lifeline. So I was living the story I was covering for several days. My parents took my one-year-old daughter and me in as we too were without power in rural Manotick. People calling in to say they had generators or extra wood. CFRA then was like a modern-day trading post. We all worked 16 hour days to cover the many, many families living without electricity, without heat, without access to phones. Those trips were incredible: Vancouver 2010, London 2012, and Rio 2016.īut I think the story that stands out the most was the ice storm of 1998. I have been fortunate enough to cover a few Olympic Games, too.

the go getters ottawa

The families who shared with CTV Ottawa their devastating experiences with flooding in 20 will never be forgotten. That was an emotional night and a very close vote. Perhaps due to my time at McGill, I feel incredibly attached to the province of Quebec. I was also in the NO camp for the referendum vote in Montreal in 1995. I was in the courtroom for the verdict and in those pre-social media days, came running out to our location to get the news to Steve Madely and get it on the air as quickly as possible. Our CFRA morning show was on location in Toronto for the final stages of the Paul Bernardo murder trial. What’s one of the most memorable stories you’ve covered? I still dreamed of writing for a newspaper, but I loved the energy in the radio newsroom and decided it might be the right place for me. When he suggested doing an internship at CFRA at the end of my program, I was torn. Steve Winogron was the news director at CFRA at the time and one of my instructors. I attended Algonquin’s print journalism program to test the waters and ended up thoroughly enjoying the broadcasting courses. I started doing articles for the McGill Tribune and thought about doing a master’s in journalism. Why did you want to get into broadcasting? We were only together briefly, but my love affair with Canada’s capital remains strong (laughs). You went to McGill University before attending Algonquin College. So my first opportunity to be on the news desk here was certainly a meaningful, full-circle moment. I should also mention I grew up watching CJOH-TV (now CTV Ottawa) every day, and remember gathering around the TV with the family at 6. I also made an amazing group of friends who are still some of my best buds to this day. I had some teachers there who rivalled my university profs in terms of teaching ability. I was born here and grew up in Riverside Park near Mooney’s Bay.

the go getters ottawa the go getters ottawa

Makeup by Corey Stone Where did you grow up? We sat down with Patricia to talk growing up in Ottawa, her journey to broadcasting, and her life off-screen. From raising their family, looking after their dogs Jackson and Levi, and balancing work schedules, it’s been a wild ride. Married to TSN 1200’s Gord Wilson, together they have dominated the Ottawa media scene with their presence and work ethic. After attending Algonquin college, she has spent the last 27 years working at CFRA, The Score, and now with CTV Ottawa. When the clock hits 6 and the lights come on, Patricia Boal is there to deliver your Ottawa News.īorn and raised in Canada’s Capital, Patricia grew up watching the news with her family, but now she gets to deliver it to the people of Ottawa.







The go getters ottawa